Gilas Pilipinas Women's Official Lineup For The 2019 Jones Cup

Photo credit: Kelly Hayes (#23) Photo by Maria Noble/WomensHoopsWorld | FIBA

Philippines women's national basketball team, Gilas Pilipinas Women, will participate in the 2019 William Jones Cup for Women on July 24 to 28 at the Xinzhuang Stadium, Xinzhuang District in New Taipei City, Taiwan.

"The participation in the 2019 Jones Cup will definitely give the girls the experience and the competitive spirit in preparation for the 2019 Women's Asia Cup and the 2019 Southeast Asian Games." said Samahang Basketbol ng Pilipinas (SBP) President Al Panlilio. World #47 Gilas Pilipinas Women, rank #9 in Asia, will begin its campaign in the William Jones Cup against New Zealand on July 24, then against Japan on July 25, against Taipei-A on July 26, Korea on July 27 and the Taipei-B on July 28.

As per ESPN5, The Philippines will field a lineup bannered by national team mainstays Jack Danielle Animam, Janine Pontejos, and Afril Bernardino for the Jones Cup. The team is also reinforced by US-based players Kelli Hayes, Arnecia Hawkins, Elisha Bade, and Mei-Lyn Bautista.

Gilas Pilipinas Women roster for the Jones Cup 2019 [source: ESPN5]

1. Ana Castillo (De La Salle University)
2. Arnecia Hawkins (Arizona State University) 5'10"
3. Afril Bernardino (National University) 5'8"
4. Camille Claro (De La Salle University)
5. France Mae Cabinbin (Lyceum of the Philippines University)
6. Janine Pontejos (Central Escolar University) 5'5"
7. Jack Danielle Animam (National University) 6'2"
8. Mei-Lyn Bautista (George Washington University) 5'6"
9. Clare Castro (Far Eastern University) 6'4"
10. Danica Therese Jose (Ateneo De Manila University)
11. Kelli Hayes (UCLA) 6'0"
12. Elisha Bade (Sacramento State) 5'8"
13. Gemma Miranda (National University)

Head Coach: Patrick Aquino

Gilas Pilipinas Women Schedule of Games (Jones Cup 2019):
July 24, 2019 - NEW ZEALAND def. PHILIPPINES, 106-72
July 25, 2019 - JAPAN def. PHILIPPINES, 85-82
July 26, 2019 - TAIPEI-A def. PHILIPPINES, 99-91 (OT)
July 27, 2019 - KOREA def. PHILIPPINES, 92-80
July 28, 2019 - Taipei-B def. PHILIPPINES, 92-83

Previous Post Next Post